Leigh Village

Jon Ponting websites


Leigh has boundaries with four other parishes / townships:

Boundary.jpgTo the west, the village borders Minety. The boundary follows Derry Brook as far north as Swans Lane Bridge.

To the north, it borders Ashton Keynes. The boundary picks up from Swans Lane Bridge, and then follows the path of the River Thames, diverting to include Waterhay and Ashton Mead (Part of the Cotswold Water Park).

To the north east, it borders South Cerney. This short boundary line picks up from the edge of Ashton Mead (on the Wiltshire / Gloucestershire boundary), and rejoins the River Thames.

To the east and south, it borders Cricklade. From Ashton Mead and the River Thames, the boundary heads south; cutting through Bournlake Farm. It then skirts around Leigh Common, and meets the B4040. The boundary then heads west along this road – sitting just to the south of the road itself – until it meets Derry Brook and the Minety boundary.

There are also a handful of small satellite plots of land which are covered by the Leigh parish, even though they are each completely enclosed by Ashton Keynes.

Above the Parish Council is Wiltshire Council. This  became a unitary authority in 2009; taking over from North Wilts District Council and all other districts in the county (apart from Swindon which became an authority in its own right.

Leigh Council has a basic responsibility for the upkeep of the village amenities, but decisions on all other matters are dealt with at Wiltshire Council headquarters in Trowbridge – more than 30 miles away from the village.

Boundary of the Leigh.
Map: Google

Village Information

< Prev | Next >

< Prev | Next >